Marriage License Information
Marriage licenses are issued at the Reception Desk in the Circuit Court Clerk's Office on the 2nd floor of the Circuit Courthouse, 7507 Library Drive, Hanover, Virginia, between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Hanover County Government Complex Map and Directions
For the best service, visit the Clerk's Office no later than 4:00 p.m. and bring completed Bride and Groom Application Forms.
Bride Application Form (109K)
Groom Application Form (101K)
Applicants are required to state under oath the information provided to complete the marriage record. VA Code §20-16
The Clerk’s Office can provide helpful information, but it cannot give legal advice.
Notify the Clerk’s Office at HanoverCC@courts.state.va.us, if you have questions about this web page or if any of the links do not work.
Contact Information – Marriage Licenses
Where can I obtain information about marriage in Virginia?
The Virginia State Bar pamphlet Marriage in Virginia may offer helpful information.
How much does a marriage license cost?
Marriage licenses cost $30.00.
Each certified copy of a marriage license costs $2.50.
CASH PAYMENT IS REQUIRED.
How long must I wait to marry after receiving the license?
There is no waiting period.
How long is the license valid?
Marriage must take place within 60 days of issuance of the license. VA Code §20-14.1
How old must one be to obtain a marriage license?
Couples 18 years of age or older may obtain a marriage license. The Clerk's Office may request proof of age.
The minimum age at which a person may marry, with consent of a parent or guardian, is 16 years old. VA Code §20-48, VA Code §20-49
Contact the Clerk's Office (Tel. 804-365-6120, 804-365-6150) or consult an attorney or Code of Virginia when either applicant is under 16 years old and is or has been pregnant. VA Code §20-48
Do I have to marry in Hanover County?
No, the license issued by the Hanover County Circuit Court Clerk's Office is valid in any Virginia jurisdiction.
Are there persons other than qualified ministers who may perform marriages?
The Hanover Circuit Court has appointed persons to perform civil marriage ceremonies in the Commonwealth. List of Civil Marriage Celebrants.
Note: State law limits to $50 the fee that civil marriage celebrants may charge for performing a marriage ceremony. VA Code §20-27
Are blood tests required to obtain a marriage license?
How can I order a certified copy of my marriage license?
It may be convenient to order and pay for a certified copy of the completed marriage license when the license is obtained. The Clerk's Office will mail the certified copy to the couple after the completed license is received by the Clerk's Office. A certified copy of a marriage license costs $2.50.
The parties to the marriage may obtain additional certified copies of a license issued in Hanover County in person or by mail at a cost of $2.50 per copy.
Mail-in requests must include the full names of the parties, the date of marriage, a stamped self-addressed envelope and payment by check or money order.
Send the request to the following address:
Hanover County Circuit Court Clerk's Office
Attention: Marriage Licenses
Post Office Box 39
Hanover, VA 23069
Can a couple obtain a marriage license if one of the parties cannot come to the Clerk's Office as a result of military service, incarceration or some other reason?
Call the Clerk's Office at (804) 365-6120 or 804-365-6150 to discuss this.